MRF286 output power ? UT Source defective parts ??

23cm, 2.4/3.4/5.7/10/24/47 GHz and above - antennas, propagation, operating, etc. Includes Optical communications, with light,
KT6UK

MRF286 output power ? UT Source defective parts ??

Post by KT6UK »

EDIT

Since starting this thread I've discovered that the major issue is the MRF286's supplied by UT Source (and likely most other vendors in Asia) - they are defective and or counterfeit. With this in mind, please read on !
+++++++++++++++++

Hi,

I'm attempting to build a VE1ALQ dual MRF286 power amp driven by a single MRF286 and am seeking a bit of advice as I've never used these devices before.

So far the results are not too good :-(

I'm concentrating on the driver stage and with an bias current of 500mA and 1 watt of drive at 1296.2MHz I can drive the device to a drain current of 5 amperes at 28V but only get 4 watts out.

To do this I've had to tweak the input match and now have a 20dB return loss - originally the best match was down at 1152MHz of there about.

I've also had to remove some copper from the output - but seem to have run out of things to tweak.

I have the MRF's soldered directly to the heat spreader in a 0.02" trench such that the tabs align nicely with the PCB.

I have the PCB fastened down firmly and all seems good from a mechanical aspect.

The batch numbers on the MRF286's are QQ0380006 - purchased from UT source.

Any suggestions otherwise it seems I've just built myself an expensive shack heater !

Thanks Tim
Last edited by KT6UK on Thu Jun 09, 2011 12:11 pm, edited 3 times in total.
KT6UK

Re: MRF286 output power ?

Post by KT6UK »

OK, so the output match is way off, after a bit of tweaking for +30dBm in I'm seeing 41.4dBm out, better but still not there.

I'm thinking I'll align / tune each amplifier individually before assembling the whole system.
Stay tuned :-)
ZL4PLM

Post by ZL4PLM »

Hi Ive built 4 x W6PQL's all gave 200W + out using MRF286's

so def something wrong somewhere!