antenna height vs number of elements

Magic band discussion - antennas, propagation, operating, etc
VK6KFD

antenna height vs number of elements

Post by VK6KFD »

Hi - some help here please.
I have poor QTH being on the west side of a fairly large hill. Amateurs on the other side of the hill and who are within a few ks are consistently 5s points better than me (when I can hear anything). I am using a 5 element home brew antenna. I cannot really go much higher on my mast. Is it worth the effort / expense to get a better antenna or am I geographically doomed, so to speak? Relocating the qth is not an option at the moment. thanks - Frank VK6kfd
VK4MDX

Re: antenna height vs number of elements

Post by VK4MDX »

Well, firstly I am just a beginner in the six meter realm, but I read lots :-). I would have thought height would not be that critical on 6m, and terrain while limiting would not be that big a deal, not the 5S points you mention anyway.

Have you optimised the antenna using a field strength meter? Are you sure it is working to maximum efficiency for the design?

David
VK4MDX
VK6KFD

Post by VK6KFD »

No David - I have not optimised it apart from tuning for minimum swr. I do not have access to a field strength meter and being just 1 km from the coast I am pretty well shielded from all other 6m operators in Perth from the NE to S so hard to do a comparison. Last summer season was particularly frustrating. Thanks for the suggestion i will look into it.
VK4MDX

Post by VK4MDX »

OK. It could be worth your while, as I and friends have found critical differences can arise from even very slight design variances in yagis, particularly at 6m. Could be well woth your efforts. Perhaps a starting point would be to revisit your original design for the yagi and remove any, even slight variations.

Cheers

David
VK4MDX
ZL1RS
Forum Diehard

Post by ZL1RS »

Hello Frank,