Six Virgin...

Magic band discussion - antennas, propagation, operating, etc
VK4MHZ

Six Virgin...

Post by VK4MHZ »

Hi all,

Sorry for headling grabbing subject line........ :D

I am a newly licenced newbie and am trying to get my head around the 6 meter band. This forum is an enormous wealth of knowledge and I have thoroughly enjoyed wading through it (including the "robust" discusions!). I wanted to get your views on the following holes in my 50 Mhz. knowledge base:

- Is there in fact much activity (VK-ZL) up on 52-54 for me to work?

- It will be a while before I can get some aluminium up, so have I got a fighting chance with my multiband OCF dipole in the mean time (Icom 706 Mk. II G)?

- As early warning indicators, what cycle does the CW ident take on the 50 Mhz. beacons (continous or ever X mins.)?

- Speaking of early warning, if I am looking for TV audio do I search in FM mode?

- Confirming that USB is the default in SSB mode?

OK...I have bared my soul and donned my flame suit. I really would appreciate your top five tips for "us" newbies.. :shock:
VK5ZK
Frequent Poster

Re: Six Virgin...

Post by VK5ZK »

Hi Brendon,

My replies to your questions are:

There is some activity above 52mhz but most is in the lower part of 50mhz between 50.110 and 50.5mhz. Some operators will move to 52mhz if requested, others like myself will listen but I for one cannot transmit there due to high SWR from my 4 element beam. In this case you can work split frequency. You can use the logger to set this up.

When conditions are very good you can work 6mx with almost any piece of wire, but a resonant antenna, even a vertical, will give much better results. A 3 element beam is a good starting point.

There is no fixed sequence for beacon idents. Very few identify continuously but most do so at least every 30 seconds. Some give other info such as actual location or grid locator.