Grounding the Ham Shack

General discussion - When it doesn't fit anywhere else
VK3DCA
Forum Novice

Grounding the Ham Shack

Post by VK3DCA »

Hello,
I'm a new HAM operator setting up my shack.
Can I please get some advice from the more experienced operators.

I understand how important it is to have proper grounding for the ham shack. However, I need to be clear about where to place my 'Copper Grounding Bar' which connects to my ground rod and is also my central point to which all HAM equipment requiring a ground are also connected.
(1) Should my 'Copper Grounding Bar' be located closer to my outside Ham Earthing Rod (which goes deep into the ground), or
(2) Should my 'Copper Grounding Bar' be located closer to my Ham equipment within the Ham Shack?

I think the correct answer is (1) but I need to be clear about this.
Thank you.
Dean
VK5PJ
Forum Diehard

Re: Grounding the Ham Shack

Post by VK5PJ »

Hello Dean,
the answer all revolve around what gives you the path of the least resistance so distance between items in the chain are the key points here to be considered.

To have the earthing bar nearer the equipment, you need to have a single (or multiple in paralell) larger diameter multi-strand cable connecting the bar to the rod (do not scrimp on this cost as it is a key point in making it work). Cables from the equipment to the bar can now be shorter and of a lesser diameter but again do not scrimp on this part of the deal as it is the overall resistance that gets you over the line here.

You can have the earthing bar closer to the earth rod but now you must have each of the connections from each device to the earth bar considerably larger than in the option above.