SMPS, which would you recomend?

ATUs, PSUs, Rotators, Test Equipment, components, etc
VK5PJ
Forum Diehard

SMPS, which would you recomend?

Post by VK5PJ »

Hi,
well it looks like it is time for me to go to a switch mode PSU for general shack use. I have been running a CODAN 7113 linear supply 24hrs a day for over 10 years now I suspect my power company has made enough money out of me for excess use of the linear supply idling along.

Generally SM Power supplies or SMPS as lots like to call them have been avoided by me but the reality is they are not like they used to be.

I have a few HP server SMPS to use on projects that are only used occasionally but am looking for one that I can have on 24x7 and not even know its there.

I am looking for an RF quiet 13.8V DC supply in the 30Amp and above category, the only other stipulation is that if it has a fan that the noise from the fan is low as well. I recently bought an ICOM linear supply that has the fan from HELL, it cycles every 20 or so seconds and is quite loud, so I do not want to make the same mistake.

Have seen some very nasty reviews about the bigger MFJ SMPS (eham.net), with some people ready to put a bullet through them so it looks like MFJ still has quality issues..

If you have a nice switch mode supply would you recommend it to others? please share a quick description of it would be handy.

Regards,
Peter Sumner, vk5pj
You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life.
- Winston Churchill
VK4TI
Forum Diehard

Re: SMPS, which would you recomend

Post by VK4TI »