Andrew L44N connectors for LDF4-50A, etc.

Related discussion about towers, masts, and transmissions lines
VK2KPK

Andrew L44N connectors for LDF4-50A, etc.

Post by VK2KPK »

I am completely new to Heliax so some very basic questions.

1. I have been given three of these but they are in bits and I want to know if they (some) are complete or not.
So word pictures follow:

Outer body - there is an insulator in it

A small "O" ring presumably to go over the corrugation of the heliax

The inner connector to solder to the centre conductor

The clamping nut

"O" ring to suit the clamping nut

Silicone grease

Spacing gauge

Is this list complete?

If so I need:

1 insulator to the outer body - one appears to have had a hard time

1 small "O" ring

1 inner connector

Are these bits available anywhere - I have contacted Andrew Australia - I was told the L44N is obsolete so ...

2. Is there an accepted method of terminating the Heliax i.e. male one end, female the other ...?

3. Heliax down the mast then flexible to the rig (my question regarding type of cable has been answered). What is a neat solution to getting the cable through the shack wall, bulkhead connectors, or ..?

73, Geoff, VK2KPK
VK2ZT

Re: Andrew L44N connectors for LDF4-50A, etc.

Post by VK2ZT »

Geoff sounds like you have the old gold type connector and RFI are right the new ones are a press fit type and don't require soldering .
I come across the gold ones now and then , I have one of the 4-50 prep tools clamp and turn type if you can't get any help locally you are welcome
to it .
We mainly use the drill type prep tool , and male or female is up to you just depends what plugs into each end .

Cheers

Steve

vk2zt@yahoo.com
VK2KRR

Post by VK2KRR »

HI Geoff,

Can u take any photos of the connectors and post up here? that would help identify what u have a whats missing.