REVEX SWR meter

ATUs, PSUs, Rotators, Test Equipment, components, etc
VK6FT

REVEX SWR meter

Post by VK6FT »

I recently purchased a used Revex Model W540 SWR/Power meter. It covers both VHF and UHF. Would anyone have a copy of the user manual or circuit info? Reason is; the SWR calibration control is extremely touchy and I'm wondering if there's an adjustment inside for it, there's quite a few trimmers on the board inside and hopefully one of them is to 'tame down' the sensitivity of the meter a bit? I have a Diamond VHF/UHF SWR/Power meter as well and whilst it's accuracy is not good the SWR calibration is very easy to use.

Cheers Wayne, VK6FT
VK5AKK
Frequent Poster

Re: REVEX SWR meter

Post by VK5AKK »

Something sounds a bit odd here. Perhaps you have a dodgy patch lead, feedline or antenna. I would test it on low power into a dummy load before I started playing around with internal factory settings.
Cheers
Phil
VK2VHF

Post by VK2VHF »

Wayne,

I have a manual for a W560 that I can scan for you. It is normal for the meter to be very sensitive in calibration mode. I have owned 3 revex meters and all were the same.

PM me your email address.

Cheers

Adrian
VK6FT

Post by VK6FT »

Len, VK2CBL has sent me a copy of the manual. Thanks Adrian for your offer of a copy of the manual too but Len beat you to it! I had no intention of touching any of the settings unless the manual or some other info suggested that I should do so (and it doesn't) and so thanks Phil for telling me that it's 'normal' for the Revex to be a bit touchy to calibrate and yes all the tests to date were done with low power. Speaking of power - Whilst the Diamond is easier to calibrate, ie; it's not as touchy, it's accuracy leaves a bit to be desired which is why I brought the Revex. I have an IC-910 and when set on max power the Diamond says it's putting out 100 watts :D , the Revex on the other hand says it's putting out it's rated 80 watts.

Thanks for the replies.
Cheers Wayne, VK6FT
VK2SI