Echolink

ACMA, Licencing, and Examination discussion
VK2FMSL
Forum Novice

Echolink

Post by VK2FMSL »

Morning all,

As a newly licenced operator, I am receiving conflicting information regarding the use of echolink (from my computer not via radio). Some operators from F call through to advanced are adamant we (F calls) are permitted to use the program. Others are adamant we are not. I spoke with the WIA who were not really sure. They don't 'think' we can.

Any thoughts?

73's
Pete
VK2FMSL
VK2CSW
Forum Diehard

Re: Echolink

Post by VK2CSW »

I don't know the answer but I am curious.

The people who would make the determination are the ACMA. You pay them and annual fee, so why not get some value for money and ask them?

They aren't the bad guys in fact I have always found them to be more than helpful.

Colin
VK2MUS
Forum Diehard

Post by VK2MUS »

VK2FMSL wrote:Morning all,

As a newly licenced operator, I am receiving conflicting information regarding the use of echolink (from my computer not via radio). Some operators from F call through to advanced are adamant we (F calls) are permitted to use the program. Others are adamant we are not. I spoke with the WIA who were not really sure. They don't 'think' we can.

Any thoughts?

73's
Pete
VK2FMSL
you are allowed to use it but not in a sysop mode - ie no connection to your radio is allowed so on your end you use it similar to Skype etc however on the other end you may end up on a repeater or on the airwaves. As you are not transmitting then the ACMA and regs do not apply - it is up to the other end to make sure they do not transmit you over bands you are not licensed for ( they are responsible for this not you). This also applies to the CQ100 echolink link and USA repeater links CQ100 on 28MHz band links CQ100 users to echolink users and 2M repeaters mostly hand held USA operators- you are not transmitting you are simply using the internet via your computer