TV antenna

General discussion - When it doesn't fit anywhere else
VK5IR
Forum Diehard

TV antenna

Post by VK5IR »

Hi all

This weekend I will be putting up a new outdoor TV antenna. My two little girls keep snapping the rabbit ears antennas I buy so I decided after many years to do it properly.

I bought a cheap VHF/UHF yagi from Dickies ($50) and I intend to mount it to the same mast I have my Station Master vertical mounted on that I use for 10 & 15 meters. I can't mount it anywhere else.

Am I doomed to face a life full of TVI? The TV antenna will only sit around a meter or so below the base of the Station Master.

Also, is RG59 ok to do the job or would you suggest I use RG6 and if so, WHY? Will it make any difference? Its only going be a run of around 10 meters max.

My digital TV reception has always been good even with the rabbit ears so I assume the cheap yagi will do the job. I've had a look around the neighborhood and its looks as if a lot of my neighbors are using a similar antenna.

Thanks for your help.

Theo.
Theo
VK5IR
VK3DXE
Forum Diehard

Re: TV antenna

Post by VK3DXE »

If you have a fairly recent TV and your TV signals are reasonably strong, then you shouldn't have too much trouble with reception.

In my experience, the biggest problems with digital reception "TVI" have been in marginal signal areas where the TV suffers desense from the TX and you start to lose signal over the precipise. Try running your TV antenna a little lower down the mast - less wind loading and a little further from your TX antenna, then see how it goes.
Alan VK3DXE
QF21nv
VK2ZRH
Forum Diehard

Post by VK2ZRH »

Hi Theo.

I embarked on a similar route last year. We're not by any means in a fringe reception area, but indoor antenna reception of the digital TV channels was pretty disastrous.