WSPR in general

WSPR discussion
VK3MJC

WSPR in general

Post by VK3MJC »

G'day.. 8)

What's the most popular band here in VK for WSPR? I've been watching VK2KRR's posts so I figured 10m looked like a winner.

Well, 10m and 20m had NOTHING.. Left the machine receiving for ~36 hours for each band, and got zip (actually, I tell a lie - I got VK3XPT from about 15km away on 10m :lol: )

Switched to 30m (I know I can't TX there, so it's only doing RX) had me receiving contacts from KC6KGE, K3GEN, ON5DC, N6GN & OE3KFB within minutes..

Maybe my 706 has gone deaf? Image

Go easy on me - I'm new to this.. :wink:
VK2GOM

Re: WSPR in general

Post by VK2GOM »

It all hinges on what propagation is happening at whatever time.

10m can really come alive when the band is open. Same on 20m. But, it has to be said, the most popular band for WSPR is 30m, globally.

73 - Rob VK2GOM / G0MOH
VK2KRR

Post by VK2KRR »

Hi Macca,

As Rob indicated, it depends on the propagation at the time. Time of day, solar figures etc. Also your noise levels, and antenna etc.

Im not sure I would say there is one most popular band for WSPR, a lot of people change bands with the different times of day etc.

Currently im only really looking at 40,20,15,10,6 m bands often, out of those I'd say 20m probably gets the most use. 10m does get a lot of users during daylight hours esp on weekends. Sometimes 160m gets a good following after dark.
Ive not looked at 30m for a while, but its the default band for the program etc and does seem to work really well too.

The 10m band has been very quiet this month, and you have to be there at the right times to get anything at this point, some days there is nothing.

20m has also been very tempramental, sometimes being very quiet of late also, but usually is some propagation from somewhere.

Depending on your antenna for 20m you should at least be able to hear locals at times, if not more.

If you need a hand, just ask.
VK6ADF
Forum Diehard

Post by VK6ADF »